Opening my eyes

It is still taking me by surprise when I read something that describes my childhood relationship with my mother.

Today I read an article about the characteristics of narcissistic mothers and my chest tightened, my breath quickened and I began to feel light-headed. There were some things in the article that did not apply, my mother never denied me necessities or food or clothing, but she did use the fact that I was provided for as a justification for other abuses.

I am getting better at seeing that the fact that 10% of an article does not apply does not mean that my experiences did not occur..I think I was trained to see the exception and say, you see, because of this exception, what happened was not abuse.

Leave a Reply

