No real sense of time

The human mind is amazing, it does not really understand the difference between what is happening now and what has happened in the past. We can empathize and cry with characters in books and movies because our minds do not actually process the difference between reality and fantasy.

While this is useful for hypnotic techniques our subconscious inability to distinguish between what is and what was means that sometimes when we remember an unpleasant event our minds actually go through exactly the same processes that they went through when the event occurred.

I am in the process of uncovering and remembering some unpleasant childhood memories…there are a few pleasant memories, but all in all, most of my childhood was an unhappy one.

My body and mind are not entirely happy with this process…tension headaches, grinding teeth and general aches and pains are here in full force…and right now my memory and mental capacity for anything in the present is almost non-existent.

But as I go through this process I am growing and leaving this darkness behind…and while I might be struggling to learn and focus at the moment (which was something that I struggled with a child) I am also believing that I will get through it, and come out stronger and happier than I entered this process.

2 thoughts on “No real sense of time

  1. Dear, Trisha, I loved the post and I know exactly what you are talking about. That’s so weird, isn’t it? The material world is still the same and the emotional one is aching.

    I wish you lots of power in this process and I hope there are some bright moments when you can relax and treat yourself. I mean some kind books or nice music or a lovely piece of chocolate ๐Ÿ™‚ , anything which would bring you some happiness ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

