Darkness born in the past

At what point does a person’s history stop being a scapegoat for their behavior?

After all our experiences in childhood are said to be formative, literally shaping us into the people we become. Do we have a choice later in life to change our natures or are we doomed by cruel fates to play mindless parts in a  play?

I can not say for certain what I believe. I think before we can change our natures we need to acknowledge them…and perhaps confront the demons that were birthed during our childhood.

Confronting and acknowledging that darkness though…it can be terrifying. And should we hold it against those who have not looked into their own dark pasts?

I don’t know. I guess I think not. Of course, whether or not I can live up to that thought is part of my battle between light and dark.

Leave a Reply

