Being stronger than the story

I saw a Facebook status:

You’ve got to be stronger than the story

And my internal response was I am working on it. The problem is in a story there are heroes and there are villains. It is a binary situation. Real life is more complicated than that. Or is it? Do people’s circumstances ever really mitigate behaviour? I don’t know.

A day after I wrote this part of the post, I had the thought: To be stronger to than the story you need to own it. I guess that is what I need to work on most about my abuse, figuring out the story and how I am stronger than it. How it is not going to hold me back or stand in my way.

***

The part of the post that you just read was written on Thursday evening. The rest was written today.

***

One of the things I did this weekend was a canopy tour. This meant that I was in a situation that involved heights. And I am generally not good with heights. In fact, that is an understatement…I am downright terrible with them.

But as I stood on the platform and made the choice to begin my canopy tour…to be strapped up and slide over the ground. I realized that I can choose not to let the fear hold me back, and that is something new. For years I have believed those who have told me that I am limited by my fears. That I will not be able to overcome them. That they form a cage from which I cannot escape. They are wrong.

I can escape. I can choose to look at my fears. Accept that some of them are rational and others are not. I can choose to get on the platform and experience the adventure. I do not need to hide.

Leave a Reply

