Platitude and Lies

“Take it easy.” “Don’t be so hard on yourself.” “You’re human.”

Random platitudes…tossed out like candy, easy to say, and the people who say them feel like they are helping.

Of course, in this darkness, it is difficult to be helped and reach out for help. And to see the truth that there may be in a particular platitude.

One of the things that makes us human, I think, is the dichotomy of yearning to achieve perfection while simultaneously knowing that it is inachievable.

And for the most part, it is a good thing. Provided that you manage to balance the striving for perfection with actual action towards achieving what you set out to do.

The problem is, in the lies that depression tells you, one of them echoes saying that unless you achieve perfection you are worthless.

Another lie, is that you are more of the problem than the solution…that people will be better off without you in their lives.

And those are the lies that I am trying to spark a rage against…But for now, I will settle for grim defiance.

2 thoughts on “Platitude and Lies

  1. Hey, I don’t want to produce platitudes. I just wanted to let you know that I’m here and I’m reading your blog and I hope you will get out soon and everything will be good.

    I also find it interesting that you are talking about perfection here. I was thinking about it these days. I’ve never known before that the wish to reach perfection in everything was so strong for me and ruled so much in my life.

    Anyway, that’s just a random thought.

    I wish you power to fight those lies. They are ugly lies. They will go away one day.

    • Hi Freedonm (I absolutely love that handle btw)

      Thank you. It seems like an inadequate response to your comments…but it’s real. I suspect in some ways, our stories and backgrounds might have similarities. And it helps, I started this just to put this out into the universe. Just to get the words out of my head…create an outlet where I could put them instead of having them chasing around in cirles.

      I know I will get out. But for now, I just take baby steps…just like you are.

Leave a Reply

